Cecilie Grundt

Cecilie Grundt has in the recent years made a name for herself on the Norwegian jazz scene as a rising saxophone player and band leader with her personal sound and innovative approach to composing.


Saxophonist and composer Cecilie Grundt grew up in Stavanger, Norway. Her family enjoyed listening to both classical and jazz music from their record collection, introducing her to music of Dexter Gordon and Charlie Parker from an early age. No wonder she began playing alto saxophone at the age of nine. She took lessons at the Stavanger Performing Arts School, while playing in different marching bands, where she often performed as a soloist. Cecilie was playing both the alto and soprano saxophone at age 14, before the tenor became her obsession a few years later. 

  • Svart YouTube Ikon
  • Svart Spotify Ikon
  • Svart Instagram Ikon
  • Svart Facebook Ikon